Board of Directors


David Burgoyne, Ph.D., President & CEO, Director

Dr. David Burgoyne, Founder and President of Naegis Pharmaceuticals, has over 25 years experience in the business of drug discovery and early stage pharmaceutical development. Trained as a marine natural products chemist, David obtained his Ph.D. from the University of British Columbia in 1992.  After postdoctoral research and beginning his industrial career leading drug discovery research,  David held executive positions as VP Research, serving as a key contributor to teams that advanced multiple products from discovery to clinical development, and VP Business Development, where he was intimately involved in value creating activities including licensing, mergers and acquisitions.


Philip Davies, Ph.D., Director

Dr. Davies joined the Naegis Board in 2011 and brings his leadership experience in the large pharmaceutical environment and his expertise in inflammatory mechanisms and pharmacology. He obtained his Ph.D. in 1967 at the Welsh National School of Medicine based on studies of the effects of aspirin and other salicylates on blood cells, including platelets. After a postdoctoral fellowship in the Department of Medicine at New York University School of Medicine, he returned to the UK in 1970 to the MRC Clinical Research Center where he was appointed a permanent member of the MRC staff based on his work on macrophage function. In 1975, he was recruited to Merck in Rahway, New Jersey, to establish research programs on novel mechanism anti-inflammatory drugs. Over the subsequent quarter of a century until his retirement in 2003 as Executive Director and Head, Immunology Research, he was involved in a broad range of research and development activities targeting immune and non-immune based inflammatory diseases.  He has published over 130 peer reviewed manuscripts and is an inventor on a number of issued United States patents. Since 2003, he has been active as a consultant to numerous pharmaceutical companies and has become involved in the establishment of several new companies.


Cameron Groome, Director 

Mr. Groome has served on the Naegis Board of Directors since June 2016.  He has over 25 years of experience in the life sciences and finance industries.  His experience includes success in CEO and executive positions with public life sciences companies and respected accomplishments as an advisor, banker and analyst to the industry.  Cameron has helped enable the growth of many life sciences companies by way of leading operations, strategic transactions and financings.

Cameron currently serves as President and CEO of Microbix, is a member of the Life Sciences Advisory Group of Global Affairs Canada and the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (Ottawa) and serves on the Board of Directors of ScarX Therapeutics Corp. (Toronto).


Julia Levy, Ph.D., Director 

Dr. Levy joined the Naegis Board in June 2013, bringing her extensive leadership experience in the biotechnology industry and in drug development. In addition to being founder of QLT Inc., Dr Levy held several key senior posts at QLT including Chief Scientific Officer and Vice President as well as President and CEO from 1995 to February 2002. Dr. Levy served as Director of QLT from 1983. In December 2006, Dr. Levy retired from the Board of Directors.  Under her leadership, QLT recorded the strongest period of growth in company history and earned a reputation for achieving milestones, including FDA approval for Visudyne┬« therapy to treat age-related blindness in April 2000.

Following her doctorate degree in Immunology from the University of London, Dr. Levy was awarded an industrial Professorship in the Department of Microbiology from the University of British Columbia and is the recipient of several honorary degrees. A fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and former President of the Canadian Federation of Biological Sciences, Dr. Levy has earned numerous awards and honors, including an appointment as an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2001, the Female Entrepreneur of the Year for International Business in 1998, Pacific Canada Entrepreneur of the Year in 2000 and the Future of Vision Award from the Foundation Fighting Blindness in 2001. In 2002 she received, along with Dr. David Dolphin, the Friesen-Rygiel prize for medical research and the Prix Galien Canada research award. Along with Dr. Gustav Huber of Novartis, she was presented with the 2003 Helen Keller Prize for Innovation in Eye Care. In her honor, the Julia G. Levy Professorship in Ophthalmology Chair was created at Johns Hopkins Hospital Wilmer Eye Institute in 2004, the same year she was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the British Columbia Biotechnology Association.


Michael Liggett, CA, Director  

Mr. Liggett joined the Naegis Board in September 2011, bringing close to 30 years of experience in the health care and finance industries. He currently serves as the Audit Committee Chair. Michael was a practicing pharmacist for 7 years before obtaining his training and certification as a Chartered Accountant. After spending 7 years at Price Waterhouse Coopers (then Price Waterhouse), he joined Inflazyme Pharmaceuticals Ltd. in the capacity of Chief Financial Officer. He provided leadership through multiple financings and other strategic initiatives before successfully transitioning the company to establish its footprint in the forestry sector as Eacom Timber. His background includes over 14 years as a public company CFO with strategic and operational expertise and proven success in finance, M&A, strategic partnerships, restructurings, and risk management.


Brian Underdown, Ph.D., Chairman

Dr. Underdown joined the Naegis Board in June of 2016 bringing over 30 years of investment, academic leadership and operational experience in the biopharmaceutical sector.  He has been directly involved in the growth of over a dozen successful North American life sciences companies.  

Brian is currently a Venture Partner at Lumira Capital after serviing for many years as Managing Director.  Prior to Lumira he was assistant vice president research Pasteur Merieux Connaught (PMC, now Sanofi Pasteur) from 1994 to 1997, where he was responsible for the Canadian Universities Research program and several global vaccine development programs.  During his academic career, Brian was associate dean, research at the University of Toronto's Faculty of Medicine and at the Faculty of Health Sciences as McMaster University.  He has published over 95 articles and reviews in immunology and is recipient of 5 issued patents.


Catherine Wade, LLM, Director 

Ms. Wade was the first non-executive Board member for Naegis and brings her wealth of knowledge and experience with transactions in the biopharmaceuticial industry. She is a partner with Dentons Canada LLP. Her practice is focused in the areas of corporate and securities law with an expertise in merger and acquisitions, general corporate advice, public and private financings, corporate governance and corporate reorganizations. She is a former member of the Securities Law Advisory Committee for the British Columbia Securities Commission and was a senior staff member at the Ontario Securities Commission from 1990-1994. Catherine has extensive experience advising biotechnology and life sciences companies in all aspects, including licensing and collaboration transactions.